VUAs lead Devuan development

In November 2014, a large group of anonymous senior IT professionals known as the Veteran UNIX Admins (hence the VUA in Devuan) began developing Devuan.

A core group of three lead developers guided the project until October 2017.


In order to accelerate development for a growing community, a decision to expand the lead team (now known as the Caretakers ) from three to five evolved over several weeks of open discussion in October 2017. The Caretakers are responsible for maintenance of the infrastructure as well as facilitating and improving availability of Devuan to its users. A 4/5 consensus is required for major decisions.

Developers can be reached via email at or on irc at freenode #devuan-dev as well as using the general contact options.

Lead developers

The following developers are vital to the project and work closely with the Caretakers:

Major contributors

Along the way, these developers have made significant contributions to Devuan’s development:

Board of trustees

Donors and enthusiasts

We would like to thank everyone who has cheered up and donated us money to facilitate the birth and growth of Devuan. We don’t know yet which donors would like to be public, so please contact us if you would like to be listed here: Paul Beardsell (donor)

And remember that you can be part of this list by contributing hardware, money or time donations.

From the first DNG community campfire we would like to thank all participants for their observations, criticism and peace keeping, in particular the most prolific: Steve Litt, Edward Bartolo, Rainer Weikusat, Hendrik Boom, aitor_czr, Didier Kryn, Katolaz, T.J. Duchene, Isaac Dunham, Anto, Go Linux, Mitt Green, tilt!, Jamse Powell, Adam Borowski, Simon Hobson, dev1fanboy, fsmithred, Martijn Dekkers, Gravis, Nate Bargmann, Noel Torres, Laurent Bercot, karl, Nuno Magalhães, Svante Signell, Joel Roth, Florian Zieboll, shraptor, Miles Fidelman, Emiliano Marini, Clarke Sideroad, Gregory Nowak, Reanud Olgiati, Arnt Karlsen, Robert Storey, Enrico Weigelt, Boruch Baum, Joerg Reisenweber, Dave Turner, Arnt Gulbrandsen, Ста Деюс, Dr. Nikolaus Klepp, Richard, Jonathan Wilkes, David Hare, Dragan, Peter Olson, David Harrison, Irrwahn, Jack L. Frost, Ozi Traveller, Riccardo Boninsegna, Neo Futur, Haines Brown, Simon Wise, Matteo Panella, Marlon Nunes, Jaret Cantu, John Hughes, Aldemir Akpinar, Rob Owens, Martinx and Vlad.

This site is a cookie-free zone